Biomarker for Diffuse Scleroderma skin has been discovered!

Photo

Gout Arthritis

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Bird Lady

Bird Lady

Silver Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 24 June 2008 - 11:57 AM

I don't like to constantly complain but the ball of my right foot near my big toe hurts and burns if I put any pressure on it. It's like you're holding a lighted match to it. I found something online called gout arthritis and it seems to fit my symptoms. Has anyone ever heard of this? Could this be a part of sclero? It's no big deal in the whole scheme of things but it still hurts. Birdman
Hugs for All,

Julie (Bird Lady)

#2 Sherion

Sherion

Silver Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts

Posted 24 June 2008 - 02:26 PM

Birdman, I have no personal knowledge but I have read that gout IS a form of arthritis. I don't know if it is a symptom of sclero but nothing would surprise me anymore.

Sherion

#3 Shelley Ensz

Shelley Ensz

Root Administrator

• ISN Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,274 posts

Posted 24 June 2008 - 02:53 PM

Hi Birdman,

Every new symptom needs to be individually evaluated by your doctor, of course. This would be a new one...and if it is gout (or something else) it is probably very treatable, but dangerous to just ignore.

I'd say odds are fairly good that it is something you have in addition to scleroderma...so, please, hie thee to a doctor! Your general practitioner is probably good enough for starters, what matters is that you are seen before it has much chance to worsen.
Warm Hugs,

Shelley Ensz
Founder and President
International Scleroderma Network (ISN)
Hotline and Donations: 1-800-564-7099

The most important thing in the world to know about scleroderma is sclero.org.

#4 Sam

Sam

Gold Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts

Posted 24 June 2008 - 03:59 PM