Do you want up to date information about Scleroderma? Check out our Medical pages at www.sclero.org for all your Scleroderma questions!

Scleroderma - induced by profession

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 anonym4444

Senior Bronze Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 10:25 AM

a friend of mine (posting on the German sclero forum) has just found out he has scleroderma (lung fibrosis amongst other problems)...now he is a stonemason (I do not know if this is the correct translation...but basically he works with stones, cuts them, chissels them etc...you get the hang of his profession).

Now it is clear that silica is one of the well known triggers...certainly (he has a family) he would like to get insurance money of the German professional organization that normally jumps in whenever you have been permanently hurt by doing your job (yes, something like this exists in Germany)....question is: did ever anybody get through with such an argumentation that this is induced by profession? And was able to collect money from the employer/insurance...etc....or is this just no issue in the US, as something like this is not insured to begin with?