Jump to content


Biomarker for Diffuse Scleroderma skin has been discovered!


Photo

Spell Check


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 whirlway

whirlway

    Silver Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 17 December 2006 - 03:45 AM

I think this has been mentioned before, but would it be possible to add spell check to this forum? I'm not an idiot, but I forget how to spell words, especially when I am having brain fog. :D Which happens a lot.
Thanks,
~whirlway


#2 Heidi

Heidi

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts

Posted 17 December 2006 - 04:30 AM

Hi!

All I have to do to get spell check here is right click while I am in the text box. When I right click, down at the bottom there is an option, "spell check this field" and I click on that and then I have spell check. Try it out...I hope it works for you too!

Warm wishes,
Heidi

#3 betty32506

betty32506

    Silver Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Location:Pensacola, FL Extream NW FL_

Posted 17 December 2006 - 06:27 AM

Heidi,

Thanks for that info. I need it also and thought I had looked everywhere but it works as you say.

While on such a subject I have another question. With no spell check I usually write my text as a document, spell check, and copy and paste. I do that with other situations. I have done that twice on this board and it posts with some extra symbols like < > and such.

The spell check just worked on this!!! :) :D
Betty

#4 Sheryl

Sheryl

    Platinum Member

  • ISN Support Specialists
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, Michigan

Posted 17 December 2006 - 08:12 AM

I tried to see if spell check came up when I was writting to say I would love to have spell check on this program. I tried the right click and all that comes up is Undo, Delete and Select All. No spell check. Bring it on as an after Holiday Gift to all of us. I wouldn't want someone working on it now. But, sometime in the New Year would be great. Everyone on the board has different options than the rest of us. We don't need all your options just a few to make our life simpler. Sheryl
Strength and Warmth,
Sheryl

Sheryl Doom
ISN Support Specialist
(Retired) ISN Chat Moderator
International Scleroderma Network (ISN)

#5 whirlway

whirlway

    Silver Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 17 December 2006 - 08:24 AM

Thanks.
~whirlway


#6 Heidi

Heidi

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts

Posted 17 December 2006 - 08:26 AM

Sheryl,

I think you also have to change the settings in your internet browser. I use Firefox and I had to go into it first and add the spellcheck before the right click worked. Every browser is a little different and that is why things work a little differently or look a little differently on the board for us.

Warm wishes,
Heidi

#7 Guest_Sherrill_*

Guest_Sherrill_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2006 - 02:07 PM

Hi,

I'm not sure that all browsers are equal. I use the newest version of Firefox now, and discovered by accident that it has a spell check incorporated in it. I was typing a message here, and I found a few spelling errors were underlined in red. When I right clicked on the underlined word it brought up a "dictionary" of options for the word, or to add the word to the dictionary, if you know the word is correct. This happens particularly with medical terms or meds.

I used to use Netscape browser, and that didn't have a spell check.

If you have Firefox here is how you find the spell check to turn it on if it is not already:

At the top of a browser page click on the "Tools" menu. Then scroll down to "Options". In the window which opens go to the "Advanced" tab at the top. Then click on the "General" tab and you will see under "Browsing" half way down the page a box beside "Check my spelling as I type". Tick this box if it is not already ticked, click OK at the bottom, and you should have spell check enabled.

#8 Sweet

Sweet

    Platinum Member

  • ISN Support Specialists
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,892 posts

Posted 17 December 2006 - 02:28 PM

I use IE version 6. Does anyone use that and have success with spell check?
Warm and gentle hugs,

Pamela
ISN Support Specialist
International Scleroderma Network (ISN)

#9 Patty

Patty

    Senior Silver Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Location:N.W. Connecticut

Posted 29 December 2006 - 11:58 AM

I have a google toolbar and it comes with a spell check on it. you might want to download that. its pretty good to have if like me you need a little help in the spelling area.


Hugs,
Patty
Hugs,
Patty

If Life hands you lemons, make lemonade.

Hashimoto's thyroiditis, Limited scleroderma, Dermatomyositis. Diastolic Dysfunction, dysphagia, Fibro, restless leg. Lupus is a maybe.

#10 debonair susie

debonair susie

    Platinum Member

  • ISN Support Specialists
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,638 posts
  • Location:(United States)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 12:44 PM

Thanks Whirlway... for bringing spellcheck up!
Heidi and Sherrill... thanks to both of you also. I have Firefox too, but never gave it a thought that there was something I had to do to get it. Prior to Firefox, I had spellcheck, but wondered why I had "lost it" :blink: !
Anyway, I'll check it out!
Hugs, Susie
Special Hugs,

Susie Kraft
ISN Support Specialist
ISN Chat Host
International Scleroderma Network (ISN)

#11 Sweet

Sweet

    Platinum Member

  • ISN Support Specialists
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,892 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 02:59 PM

Thanks for the tip on using Google toolbar, I just download it and wanted to give it a test. Well how awesome is that it works!!!

Thanks!
Warm and gentle hugs,

Pamela
ISN Support Specialist
International Scleroderma Network (ISN)