Do you want up to date information about Scleroderma? Check out our Medical pages at www.sclero.org for all your Scleroderma questions!

Pulled Something In My Leg

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 HeatherT

Senior Bronze Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 14 January 2007 - 04:52 AM

Hi all,
The other day I pulled something (tendon, ligament?) in my leg and it still hurts. I used to run a lot and have treated many sore muscles, ligaments and tendons but am hesitant to slap on the old frozen bag of peas and pop the Ibuprofen now that I have Scleroderma. Has anyone had success nursing an injury successfully?

Thanks for the advice!

#2 Shelley Ensz

Shelley Ensz

Root Administrator

• ISN Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 14 January 2007 - 03:15 PM

Please keep in mind that I'm not a doctor and I have no medical training at all. It's my understanding that as long as the injured area itself isn't prone to Raynaud's, and as long as there is no other reason not to take Ibuprofen, you should be able to nurse any injury along as you used to do.

For example, I broke my ankle and immediately elevated it, took pain meds and applied ice, until we could get to the hospital. My toes are very prone to Raynaud's but at that moment, an attack of Raynaud's or heartburn from the meds would have been the least of my worries, but I was still careful not to put the ice directly on my toes.

If I had a badly broken a toe, I probably still would have rather reluctantly applied ice in an effort to contain the swelling -- just long enough to get to the hospital -- but not if I had any active ulcers there at the moment (since it would be a worse reaction and perhaps precipitate gangrene; thus swelling would be less of a problem than complications of the ulcer.)