Do you want up to date information about Scleroderma? Check out our Medical pages at www.sclero.org for all your Scleroderma questions!

Question for you guys

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 piperpetpete

Senior Bronze Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 06:06 AM

I am still waiting on a diagnosis so I'm very new to all this. My question is this. Last Friday I started feeling kind of queasy. I t has gone off and on since then but seems to be a little better. No diarrhea but occasionally a cramping feeling and I go but it's a small amount, however I haven't eaten that much since then so there isn't much there! My stomach will start to growl as its hungry! and I'll eat something small and it will feel OK, then just off and on queasy feeling. Could it be just some bug? I'm swimming a lot at the gym but I would think the chlorine would get rid of any nasty bugs. Or do a lot of you have this type of GI stuff. Seems like maybe a bug but just thought I'd ask you guys.

#2 Shelley Ensz

Shelley Ensz

Root Administrator

• ISN Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 12:39 PM

Hi Piper,

I'm sorry to hear you've been feeling nauseous lately. It's very hard to say how scleroderma gastrointestinal problems begin, as it may be a bit different for everyone.

But, regardless of any symptom a person with or without scleroderma has, the issue needs to be evaluated first of all by a primary care doctor, always searching for the most common causes first of all. Only when all the usual culprits have been ruled out can anything be attributed to scleroderma (generally speaking; there are exceptions to every rule). So, I have scleroderma. But if I became nauseous I would *not* assume that it is due to scleroderma. I'd first suspect the usual things such as food poisoning or virus, and if it didn't clear up on its own in a few days, or if it got worse, I'd go to my primary care doctor.