SCLERO.ORG
Sclero Forums

Left leg swelling and SD

Hi,

My old account is not accessible. 

My question is I have swelling in both legs, but my left lower leg is much worse.  I have had a 2 year history of this, when I went to the Rheumatologist 2 years ago, she sent me for a blood clot test and it came back negative.  I do eat a lot of salt.  But I am wondering if the leg swelling is due to SD or my lung fibrosis.

I had a CAT scan of the lungs and they found some water around the heart, I did not follow up as my doctor gave me the boot as I was not able to make my appointments.  I have a hard time leaving the house, due to severe anxiety problems.

Hi Ronald,

How lovely to hear from you again, although I'm sorry that you're experiencing worrying symptoms.

I've sent you a PM regarding your previous Sclero Forums account.

Please bear in mind that I'm not a doctor (my medical knowledge consists of an out of date first aid certificate), but I would hazard a guess that the leg swelling could be due in part to the water around your heart and also it's possible that a diet which is high in salt is not helping the situation.

I would recommend that you go back to your doctor, as any symptoms concerning your lungs and heart could possibly be serious. I understand that your anxiety problems are making that course of action difficult, so perhaps you should think about dealing with that as a priority.  Anxiety is a symptom that needs to be addressed and minimized when one is dealing with a chronic illness such as scleroderma and as it's perfectly normal to experience depression and anxiety along with illness, it may be beneficial for you to ask your primary care doctor for a referral for counselling if you're finding that your health issues are difficult to deal with.

Kind regards,

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Ronald,

Please bear in mind that I'm neither a medical nor psychiatric professional of any sort.  So all I can give you is my layperson's understanding.